In the state of Florida, you are required to carry a Class E or “motorcycle only” license in order to operate a moped, as well as certain types of motor scooters. You must also be at least 16 years of age. Note that, while mopeds and certain motor scooters are street-legal in Florida, meaning you can legally drive them on certain roads if you meet all applicable requirements, most motorized bicycles and motorized scooters are not.
In addition to having the proper driver’s license, you will also need to register your moped with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). You will need to pay an annual registration renewal fee and ensure that your moped carries a proper license plate. However, unlike with motorcycles, you do not need a title or insurance to drive a moped—but carrying insurance for your moped is still highly advised. In the event that you are involved in a crash, this insurance can be used to cover your liability and/or a portion of your damages.
Florida’s Definition of a Moped
Because some motorized scooters/vehicles are not permitted on public roads, it is important that you understand the state’s definition of a “moped.”
In Florida, a vehicle is considered to be a moped if it has:
- Two to three wheels
- A seat/saddle
- A maximum traveling speed of 30 mph (not including downhill speed)
- A motor with a maximum brake horsepower (BHP) of two
- An automatic transmission
- Less than 51 cubic centimeters of engine displacement (if the vehicle has an internal combustion engine)
Legally, if your moped does not fit within the constraints listed above, it may be classified as a motorcycle, automobile, or another type of vehicle.
Where Can Mopeds Be Ridden in Florida?
As previously mentioned, mopeds are street-legal in the state of Florida. In other words, they can be lawfully driven on any public road except highways. That being said, moped drivers must follow all normal traffic safety laws—they cannot drive on sidewalks or in bicycle lanes, they cannot weave in and out of traffic, and they must stop at all stop signs and red lights, yield the right-of-way when required, and obey all other rules of the road.
Additionally, moped operators are not permitted to drive on yellow lines, cut between lanes, or move between vehicles, regardless of whether traffic is moving or stopped. Mopeds that are traveling more slowly than the speed of normal traffic must also remain as far over to the right-hand side as possible, unless they are making a left-hand turn or if riding to the right is unsafe or impossible.
Helmet Requirements for Moped Riders
In Florida, anyone over the age of 16 is not required to wear a helmet when operating a moped. Unlike with Florida’s motorcycle helmet laws, this is true regardless of whether the moped rider carries insurance. Remember, insurance is not mandatory for moped operators.
However, if the moped driver is carrying a passenger who is under the age of 16, the passenger must wear a helmet. In any case, it is always better to wear a helmet as a best practice, as this is one of the best and most proven ways to prevent serious head and brain injuries in the event of an accident.
Were You Injured in a Moped Accident?
If you were involved in a moped accident, either as the operator or passenger of a moped or as a pedestrian, bicyclist, or motorist, it’s important that you know you have rights. If the other involved party was negligent or acted carelessly, recklessly, or wrongfully, you may be entitled to financial compensation for your damages.
Contact Todd Miner Law at (407) 269-5877 to request a complimentary consultation with one of our experienced personal injury attorneys.