FAQs

Free Case Evaluation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Orlando Personal Injury FAQs

The Florida laws governing tort cases can be very complex, and many questions you may have can only be answered by Orlando personal injury attorneys. Many people who have been injured by negligent parties often find it difficult to locate the basic, clear information they need. At the Orlando personal injury attorneys office of Todd K. Miner, P.A., we want to help anyone searching for useful information about personal injury law.

Simply click on a question to see the answer. This page is not intended to substitute for legal advice. To discuss your individual case, contact one of the most reliable Orlando personal injury attorneys, Todd Miner, at 407-420-4040.

What kind of compensation can I win?

The compensation you are eligible for depends on the details of your case. Examples of compensation that may be awarded include medical expenses, pain and suffering, attorney’s fees, punitive damages, and lost wages due to missed work.

What Can I Do If My Grandmother Was Abused In A Nursing Home?

If you think a loved one is facing abuse or neglect in his or her nursing home, you need to take action right away. The first step is to contact the Florida Abuse Hotline at 1-800-962-2873. The Department of Children and Families can then conduct an investigation to find out what is really going on

If your loved one is in fact being abused, you may have grounds for a personal injury lawsuit, and you should contact a Florida nursing home abuse lawyer to help you receive the compensation you need to place your loved one in a safe, quality nursing home or other facility.

Is There A Statute Of Limitations On Personal Injury Cases?

Yes. In the state of Florida, a legal clock starts ticking once a person is injured or begins showing symptoms of an injury. Most personal injury cases must be filed within 4 years of the injury, so if you are running out of time, contact an Orlando personal injury attorney. The exception, however, is medical malpractice cases, which must be filed within 2 years.

If you have been injured by a negligent party, you need to contact an Orlando personal injury attorney before it is too late.

Do I Have To Go To Trial?
Not necessarily. In fact, the majority of personal injury claims are settled out of court. This does not have to mean settling for less than the amount you deserve, but it does mean that you may be able to reach a resolution quickly and efficiently. Experienced Orlando personal injury lawyer Todd Miner, P.A., can help you get the fairest deal possible, whether that means going to trial or not.
Can I Receive Workers Compensation If Employer Did Not Cause Injuries?
You are entitled to workers’ compensation for any injury you receive while performing your work duties. The details are largely irrelevant, unless your injuries were caused by a third party, such as a negligent property owner or employee of another company. In that case, you may be able to use a Florida workers compensation attorney to win compensation from that party in addition to workers’ compensation.