Orlando Personal Injury Blog

5 Tips to Keep Your Teenage Driver Safe

Posted By Todd Miner Law || 6-Jan-2017

Well, the dreaded day has finally come: your teen has earned their driver’s license. While they are sure to be excited about cruising around town and enjoying their newfound freedom, it comes as no surprise if you as a parent are worried; nearly one in four teen drivers will be involved in a car accident during their first six months of driving. According to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, teens are among the riskiest drivers on the road and are involved in four-times more collisions than adults. As such, it is your responsibility as a parent to instill safe driving habits in your child and implement certain boundaries to keep them focused on the roads.

The following tips can all help reduce your child’s chances of being involved in a traffic accident:

  1. Put the cell phone away: According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), roughly 10 percent of all fatal collisions involving drivers age 15 to 19 are caused by distracted driving, with smartphones frequently being a contributing factor. It is imperative you implement a strict “no phone” rule whenever your child is driving. No text message or phone call is worth the risk.
  2. Keep the music low: Another distracting and dangerous habit prevalent in teen drivers is to blast music while driving. This can make it extremely difficult to hear emergency sirens or other hazards.
  3. No passengers: Adding a single nonfamily passenger to a teenager’s car increases their risk of a crash by as much as 44 percent, with this number increasing with each additional passenger. Many states, including Florida, have graduated license programs which restrict a teen’s drivable hours and the ability to drive with passengers under 21 until their 18th birthday. In addition to complying with these laws, it is recommended you do not allow them to drive with other teenage passengers for at least a year after receiving their license.
  4. Set a good example: Your teen will pick up many of the same driving habits as you. If you run red lights, speed down the highway at 75 mph, make risky maneuvers, or exhibit road rage, you are essentially showing them that the rules do not matter – with potentially fatal consequences.
  5. No alcohol: Florida has a zero tolerance rule in regards to underage drinking and driving. Drinking and driving can not only reduce your teen’s reaction times and motor skills, but it can also expose them to serious criminal consequences for driving under the influence. Never let your teen drive if they have had any amount of alcohol – no exceptions.

Unfortunately, even the most careful individuals can never truly prepare for the negligence of another party. If you or your teen should be injured in a crash through no fault of your own, get in touch with an Orlando car accident lawyer from Todd Miner Law. With more than two decades of proven experience fighting for the rights of injured clients, our firm has what it takes to maximize your eligible compensation.

Find out more about why so many clients love us by calling our office today at (407) 269-5877.

Blog Home

Injury News & Information

Browse Through Our Blog

Todd Miner Law

  • Office Hours
  • Mon - Fri: 7 am – 10 pm
  • Sat - Sun: 9 am – 8 pm